Level Up: The Dramaturgy of Digital Performance and Design

Monday 18 January – Thursday 18 February 2021

Associated Designers of Canada and ToasterLab present the symposium Level Up: The Dramaturgy of Digital Performance and Design livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Monday 18 January to Saturday 13 February 2021.

Hosted by The Associated Designers of Canada, this symposium consists of a series of presentations and moderated discussions between presenters and attendees which will actively bring together collaborators from across the country in an online platform that is safe and without risk, an absolute necessity for the success of our Canadian performing arts ecology at this time.

All events are free to attend, and open to everyone, members of the ADC and non-members alike!

We are also encouraging all members and supporters who are not currently facing a financial hardship due to COVID-19 to consider making a donation to the ADC to help us in supporting and advocating for designers across the country.

Please see the schedule for more details on each session.

Streaming Sessions:

Monday 18 January

Build it yourself! An introduction to custom digital tools for live performance
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Tuesday 19 January

Digital rehearsal and remote performance spaces
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Wednesday 20 January

Contracts in a Digital Age
2 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 4 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 5 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Thursday 21 January

Beyond Reality
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Friday 22 January

The Pedagogy of Digital Creation
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Monday 25 January

In Your Face
12 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 2 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 3 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Wednesday 27 January

Demo: I AM ALAN TURING
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Thursday 28 January

emerging media, storytelling, and technology’s role in performance
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Friday 29 January

Moment Factory’s The Legacy of Illuminations: human/nature
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Monday 1 February

Digital Presentation Formats and Taking Your Show Online
12 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 2 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 3 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Tuesday 2 February

Games, Performance, and Digital Placemaking
10 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 12 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 1 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Thursday 4 February

Amelia Scott Presents: Porte Parole’s The assembly
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Friday 5 February

Performing ‘Live’
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Monday 8 February

Coyotes & Cheezies: The integration of animation into live theatre
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Tuesday 9 February

Intellectual property in a digital era
10 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 12 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 1 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Wednesday 10 February

Converging Worlds: Where Game Design Meets Theatre
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Maziar Ghaderi Presents Playformance: The Synthesis of Cultural Intangible Movement & Interactive Technology
2 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 4 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 5 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Thursday 11 February

Grandpa drew stories with a lit cigarette AKA Illuminations from Article 11’s Room series
2 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 4 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 5 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Friday 12 February

Pier: Asserting Breath in Projection Content Creation and Playback Systems
10 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 12 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 1 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

HEiST: Frequencies
12 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 2 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 3 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Thursday 18 February

Symposium artists Q and A
11 a.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 2 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)

Symposium closing ceremony
2 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 4 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 5 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5)