Performance and XR 2020

Presentations

Date And Time

Friday, October 2, 2020 – 3:00 PM – 6:00 PM EDT
Saturday, October 3, 2020 – 3:00 PM – 6:00 PM EDT
Friday, October 9, 2020 – 3:00 PM – 6:00 PM EDT
Saturday, October 10, 2020 – 3:00 PM – 6:00 PM EDT

Location

AltSpaceVR and streaming on Howlround

About this Event

Toasterlab is presenting a livestream of the symposium Performance and XR 2020 (PXR2020) on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Friday 2 October to Saturday 10 October 2020.

Performance and XR 2020 (PXR2020), produced by Single Thread Theatre Co. in association with Electric Company Theatre, is a Virtual Reality Symposium for Canadian artists and XR technologists, exploring creation and performance in XR. An opportunity for creators and digital content creators to come together to share discoveries and build partnerships for future collaborations, PXR2020 features a series of presentations, discussions and showcases by artists, technologists and innovators in a virtual environment. It is presented in partnership with the Centre for Entertainment Arts (Langara College), the Vancouver VR Community, Toasterlab, and Outside the March Theatre Company, and is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

The symposium occurs over four sessions in Virtual Reality, and includes a Keynote presentation by Yelena Rachitsky, Executive Producer at Oculus Experience, and Endnote presentation by interdisciplinary artist Casey Koyczan. Canadian theatre artists will examine virtual reality, augmented reality and mixed reality (collectively known as XR) in the creation of live performance, developing and sharing strategies with industry leaders and XR Programmers. With virtual presentations of artistic works by Electric Company Theatre, Single Thread Theatre, Jo Jack et John, Toasterlab, and others, PXR2020 aims to foster creative experimentation with these emerging mediums in dialogue with the IT sector.

PXR2020 is happening in AltSpaceVR, the premier place to attend live shows, meetups, cool classes, and more with friendly people from around the world. All thanks to the magic of Virtual Reality. It is accessible on HTC Vive; Oculus Rift, Rift S, Go, and Quest; Windows Mixed Reality; and 2D Mode on PC.

Selected sessions will be streaming via HowlRound and the Partners, so people without a headset or an appropriate device can still participate.

Full Schedule

Friday 2 October, 2020

12:15 p.m. – 1 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 2:15 p.m. – 3 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 3:15 p.m. – 4 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

1:15 p.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 3:15 p.m. – 4 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 4:15 p.m. – 5 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

2:15 p.m. – 3 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 4:15 p.m. – 5 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 5:15 p.m. – 6 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)


Saturday 3 October, 2020

12:15 p.m. – 1 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 2:15 p.m. – 3 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 3:15 p.m. – 4 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

1:15 p.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 3:15 p.m. – 4 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 4:15 p.m. – 5 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

2:15 p.m. – 3 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 4:15 p.m. – 5 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 5:15 p.m. – 6 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)


Friday 9 October, 2020

12:15 p.m. – 1 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 2:15 p.m. – 3 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 3:15 p.m. – 4 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

1:15 p.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 3:15 p.m. – 4 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 4:15 p.m. – 5 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

2:15 p.m. – 3 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 4:15 p.m. – 5 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 5:15 p.m. – 6 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)


Saturday 10 October, 2020

12:15 p.m. – 1 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 2:15 p.m. – 3 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 3:15 p.m. – 4 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

1:15 p.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 3:15 p.m. – 4 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 4:15 p.m. – 5 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

2:15 p.m. – 3 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7) / 4:15 p.m. – 5 p.m. CDT (Winnipeg, UTC -5) / 5:15 p.m. – 6 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

FUTURE NOTE, Casey Koyczan – STREAMING – Casey will speak about the process of learning to sculpt in VR and how he has integrated this tool into his practice as an interdisciplinary artist. The talk will take place inside an “in-progress” environment for an ongoing project set on Mosher Island, Northwest Territories.


Project Team

Steering Committee